Who are your favorite Chill characters?

Something interesting happened when I posted the playtest game the other day. A couple of people commented that they remembered those characters, and it made them happy to see again. 

Doing a nostalgia product is risky in some ways. You want the game to be recognizable, but not a reprint. You want to give the players who know and love the game the feelings they had when they played it back when, but you want it to be accessible to new players and to have something fresh to offer. I’m not ready to post mechanics yet – that’s coming, so watch this space – but having run some playtest combat and had some really good discussion with the other writers, I like where we’re going.

So here’s the thing: We’re going to do a Quickstart for our edition of Chill. Right now, the plan is that if you back the Kickstarter (which I’m thinking we’ll launch in September, but I will get specific the very instant I can), you get the Quickstart, free and clear, download right away as soon as you pledge. Once the Kickstarter ends, we’ll put the Quickstart up on our site and DriveThru RPG for free. 

I have some cool ideas for the story of the Quickstart, but I want to include pre-generated characters and I want them to be characters from the second edition books. So, who are your favorites? Do you like Basil “BB” Bottomley, our Australian bounty hunter with a bola from the core book? Did Red Hounseen in Horrors of North America take your fancy? How about the SAVE family, the Fergusons, two of whom show up in Apparitions? Tell us who you like in the comments! Who would you want to see in our Quickstart?

5 comments

  1. Scott Mohnkern · · Reply

    I still have a fondness for the vampire in the first Chill Module I ran, Jackson Jammer, the vampire who could slow down time.

  2. Interesting comment about Nostalgia games. My $.02? What made Chill first edition so much fun was it’s simplicity. One Table for everything, easy rules and tons o fun. When the Mayfair edition came out, it list that simplicity on top of publishing choices that made it visually unreadable. Black print n purple blood splatters, really?

    1. See, I remember the rules being really simple, too. And then I reread them in preparation for doing 3rd ed, and holy shit, there’s a ton of stuff I never used.

      One of our guiding principles, then, was keeping the feeling but ditching the chaff. I think it’s working; the playtests I’ve run have felt very much like Chill, but simpler and cleaner.

      (And yeah, no more blood splatters.)

    1. Not a PC, but I can’t fault that choice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

